A Douglas Adams perspective

Photo of Doug Adams speaking in San FranciscoRan across this quote from Douglas Adams, the author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series of radio plays and books which I highly recommend. From the book The Salmon of Doubt:

Anything that is in the world when you’re born is normal and ordinary and is just a natural part of the way the world works. Anything that’s invented between when you’re fifteen and thirty-five is new and exciting and revolutionary and you can probably get a career in it. Anything invented after you’re thirty-five is against the natural order of things.

Adams is well known for seemingly silly statements that are actually pretty profound. This one isn’t silly and may not be profound, but it sure seems true.

Related to that is a thought of my own which is simply that an event which happened before you were born feels like ancient history and has about the same credibility as a good rumor.  Yeah, I know not strictly true–but it helps me keep perspective when talking about events like the Viet Nam war.  Very real to me, but mostly just pages in a history book to my kids. Ancient history to their kids.

About Dick Knisely

Science-guy, engineer, father, grandfather, husband -- yeah, I'm all of those things. I author this blog to share things I care about and you might care about, too. I hope you do and that you'll join in to share things you care about.
This entry was posted in Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

