One of the universe’s mysteries

I’ve always liked the simple but profound thought in this quote:Albert Einstein photo

The eternal mystery of the world is its comprehensibility.
Albert Einstein

I don’t find it surprising that we don’t understand everything about this universe we inhabit.  No, instead, I share Albert’s amazement that this grand universe is something we understand at all.  We humans have the audacity to believe that we’re capable of deciphering how this thing works.  And there’s considerable and reasonable evidence to think that we can, indeed, figure out major pieces of it.

All of it?  Well, certainly not and I’d guess that big pieces of what we think we know will turn out to be wrong.

But that’s where the fun is… we’re born with powerful, innate curiosity and set of intellectual abilities to satisfy some of it. But as the British-born geneticist and evolutionary biologist, J. B. S. Haldane (1892-1964) put it:

Now, my suspicion is that the universe is not only queerer than we suppose, but queerer than we can suppose… I suspect that there are more things in heaven and earth than are dreamed of, in any philosophy.

We may never figure it all out but that’s okay with me, the journey is interesting and it still amazes me that we at least seem able to comprehend as much as we do.

About Dick Knisely

Science-guy, engineer, father, grandfather, husband -- yeah, I'm all of those things. I author this blog to share things I care about and you might care about, too. I hope you do and that you'll join in to share things you care about.
This entry was posted in Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

