What I’ve read and am reading

My backlog of interesting books to read is getting disturbingly long. Great stuff is getting published a lot faster than I can make time to read it–but in the long run I guess that’s a good thing. Anyway here’s what’s on my shelf:

Recently read

I’ll add full or capsule reviews at some point.

  • Orbiting the Giant Hairball, A Corporate Fool’s Guide to Surviving with Grace, Gordon MacKenzie.
    Absolutely loved this one. Topic is creativity–some of the same thoughts as Ken Robinson but a different perspective.
  • Musicophilia, Tales of Music and the Brain, Oliver Sacks.
    Fantastic and mind-boggling stories about how much and little we know about how our brains handle music.
  • blink, The Power of Thinking Without Thinking, Malcolm Gladwell.
    With all the hype I wanted to be impressed, but I wasn’t very much. Still, an insight or two here.

The “on deck circle” of books waiting to be read

  • Thinkertoys, A handbook of creative-thinking techniques, Michael Michalko.
  • the myths of innovation, Scott Berkun. (blogroll link)
  • Leadership Elements by Mike Mears. (blogroll link)
  • Six Thinking Hats by Edward de Bono

Oh and I’ve got a couple project management books waiting and two novels and… <sigh> I really need about 30 hours in day to get even most of  what I want to do and need to do in the day.

Oh, well boredom isn’t an issue!

About Dick Knisely

Science-guy, engineer, father, grandfather, husband -- yeah, I'm all of those things. I author this blog to share things I care about and you might care about, too. I hope you do and that you'll join in to share things you care about.
This entry was posted in Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

