Vacation pictures and digital slideshows.

As I’ve related here, last summer I launched into a huge project scanning four decades of our family pictures. That story was the subject of a series of posts all  about getting the scans done.

Picture of slide projector and slide carousels.

Slide shows the old way

Lately I’ve been working through our vacation trip pictures and turning some of them into slide shows. That used to be something that lots of us did back in the days of shooting film, my personal favorite being Kodachrome 64. I’d come home with a bunch of rolls of film, send it off for processing and hope they turned out. Then there was the process of sorting them, labeling them and, eventually, loading up a carousel or three. Much of that process has changed, but it hasn’t gone away.

Once the carousels were loaded and ignoring the protests from some family members, I’d gather the audience (victims?) and we’d look at pictures and some of them got a nap.

Like the cameras and the pictures, slide shows have gone digital and the software to create them let’s me do things with the pictures that are amazing.  But if I’m not careful, some of the audience still gets a nap.

Vacation memories
Making and viewing the shows can be a lot of fun, especially as a way to use all those great pictures we take on vacation–whether from last month or decades ago. Having learned a few things (mostly the hard way) and finding a few things that seemed to work for me, I thought I’d share and that’s what the next couple posts are about.

But I’d really like it if you would add to the thread with your own “lessons learned” and tips for this kind of show.

Software
So, you’ve got a big library of  vacation pictures, maybe collected over many years. To turn those into slide shows, what’s needed?  Actually, the choices are many and you may well already have one or more. Most picture editing packages now have at least a simple slide Image of the ProShow Gold box package.show capability built-in. I use PhotoShop Elements as my main editor and it’s got one and it works. But as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, my main tool for slide shows is PhotoDex’s ProShow software.  The power and flexibility in that software is pretty amazing and it can help you make very cool slide shows. But, at best, that’s all it can do–help you–it can’t tell your story for you, but adding the creativity in the process is a major part of the fun for me.

No matter what software you use to create the show, you can still end up with a boring show and an audience nodding off. Making interesting shows isn’t particularly hard, but I’ve made the other kind, too, so sharing a few tips here just might help you steer around a few of the potholes in the road to a show that was fun to make and fun to watch.

Next post will be 4 specific tips for doing just that.

About Dick Knisely

Science-guy, engineer, father, grandfather, husband -- yeah, I'm all of those things. I author this blog to share things I care about and you might care about, too. I hope you do and that you'll join in to share things you care about.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation pictures and digital slideshows.

  1. Pingback: Book review: Secrets of ProShow® Experts | What I think about that

Leave a Reply

